Jewish South

Title: Jewish South
Available online: 25 August 1893 - 7 July 1899 (153 issues)

Place of publication: Richmond, VA

Published weekly in Richmond, Virginia, from 1893 through at least 1899, save for a five-month period in 1896, the Jewish South professed itself "a journal devoted to the interests of Judaism." Being one of few publications concerning Jews in the South, it reported on events of neighboring counties in Virginia including Norfolk, Staunton, and Petersburg. Published every Friday, the Jewish South returned in January 1897 in "new dress" with updated printing and improved layout features. In its latter years the newspaper expanded reporting to include news of interest from around the world including Siberia, Tunis, France, Germany, Italy, and Mexico.

During its first year, the Jewish South gained recognition and praise from prominent figures and more established newspapers. It was edited by Herbert T. Ezekiel, supervisor of printing for the city of Richmond for 19 years. Ezekiel began his newspaper career in 1886, writing for the Richmond Dispatch and the Richmond State. He reported on trials, witnessed hangings, and was sent to write articles about the old cemeteries in the city. Ezekiel also authored several books concerning the history of the Jews of Richmond and the Jews of Richmond during the Civil War.

Ezekiel recognized Richmond as a literary and publishing center that included the talents of Edgar Allan Poe, Samuel Pleasants, Thomas Ritchie, and John M. Daniel. He requested contributions from readers so the Jewish South could be an "arena of a spirited intellectual tournament." He meant for the Jewish South to "maintain a high literary character." Ezekiel also stressed that the paper "be a means of education and instruction, in matters pertaining to our faith." The Jewish South published sermons, essays, and articles explaining, discussing or commenting on the lessons and doctrines of Judaism. Among these were sermons of Edward Nathan Calisch, Rabbi of Temple Beth Ahabah in Richmond. The paper also reported on the activities of congregations, lodges, and societies as well as the movements of businesses throughout the country.

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 November 1893
2 Thursday, 2 November 1893
3 Friday, 3 November 1893
1 issue
4 Saturday, 4 November 1893
5 Sunday, 5 November 1893
6 Monday, 6 November 1893
7 Tuesday, 7 November 1893
8 Wednesday, 8 November 1893
9 Thursday, 9 November 1893
10 Friday, 10 November 1893
1 issue
11 Saturday, 11 November 1893
12 Sunday, 12 November 1893
13 Monday, 13 November 1893
14 Tuesday, 14 November 1893
15 Wednesday, 15 November 1893
16 Thursday, 16 November 1893
17 Friday, 17 November 1893
1 issue
18 Saturday, 18 November 1893
19 Sunday, 19 November 1893
20 Monday, 20 November 1893
21 Tuesday, 21 November 1893
22 Wednesday, 22 November 1893
23 Thursday, 23 November 1893
24 Friday, 24 November 1893
1 issue
25 Saturday, 25 November 1893
26 Sunday, 26 November 1893
27 Monday, 27 November 1893
28 Tuesday, 28 November 1893
29 Wednesday, 29 November 1893
30 Thursday, 30 November 1893

Text Correction Statistics for Jewish South

Blocks
Pages
Issues
Total
5,618
1,342
153
Complete
30 (0.5%)
4 (0.3%)
0 (0.0%)