Jewish South

Title: Jewish South
Available online: 25 August 1893 - 7 July 1899 (153 issues)

Place of publication: Richmond, VA

Published weekly in Richmond, Virginia, from 1893 through at least 1899, save for a five-month period in 1896, the Jewish South professed itself "a journal devoted to the interests of Judaism." Being one of few publications concerning Jews in the South, it reported on events of neighboring counties in Virginia including Norfolk, Staunton, and Petersburg. Published every Friday, the Jewish South returned in January 1897 in "new dress" with updated printing and improved layout features. In its latter years the newspaper expanded reporting to include news of interest from around the world including Siberia, Tunis, France, Germany, Italy, and Mexico.

During its first year, the Jewish South gained recognition and praise from prominent figures and more established newspapers. It was edited by Herbert T. Ezekiel, supervisor of printing for the city of Richmond for 19 years. Ezekiel began his newspaper career in 1886, writing for the Richmond Dispatch and the Richmond State. He reported on trials, witnessed hangings, and was sent to write articles about the old cemeteries in the city. Ezekiel also authored several books concerning the history of the Jews of Richmond and the Jews of Richmond during the Civil War.

Ezekiel recognized Richmond as a literary and publishing center that included the talents of Edgar Allan Poe, Samuel Pleasants, Thomas Ritchie, and John M. Daniel. He requested contributions from readers so the Jewish South could be an "arena of a spirited intellectual tournament." He meant for the Jewish South to "maintain a high literary character." Ezekiel also stressed that the paper "be a means of education and instruction, in matters pertaining to our faith." The Jewish South published sermons, essays, and articles explaining, discussing or commenting on the lessons and doctrines of Judaism. Among these were sermons of Edward Nathan Calisch, Rabbi of Temple Beth Ahabah in Richmond. The paper also reported on the activities of congregations, lodges, and societies as well as the movements of businesses throughout the country.

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Friday, 1 October 1897
1 issue
2 Saturday, 2 October 1897
3 Sunday, 3 October 1897
4 Monday, 4 October 1897
5 Tuesday, 5 October 1897
6 Wednesday, 6 October 1897
7 Thursday, 7 October 1897
8 Friday, 8 October 1897
1 issue
9 Saturday, 9 October 1897
10 Sunday, 10 October 1897
11 Monday, 11 October 1897
12 Tuesday, 12 October 1897
13 Wednesday, 13 October 1897
14 Thursday, 14 October 1897
15 Friday, 15 October 1897
1 issue
16 Saturday, 16 October 1897
17 Sunday, 17 October 1897
18 Monday, 18 October 1897
19 Tuesday, 19 October 1897
20 Wednesday, 20 October 1897
21 Thursday, 21 October 1897
22 Friday, 22 October 1897
1 issue
23 Saturday, 23 October 1897
24 Sunday, 24 October 1897
25 Monday, 25 October 1897
26 Tuesday, 26 October 1897
27 Wednesday, 27 October 1897
28 Thursday, 28 October 1897
29 Friday, 29 October 1897
1 issue
30 Saturday, 30 October 1897
31 Sunday, 31 October 1897

Text Correction Statistics for Jewish South

Blocks
Pages
Issues
Total
5,618
1,342
153
Complete
30 (0.5%)
4 (0.3%)
0 (0.0%)